Online casinos that accept SMS deposits

Updated September 2026
Licensed
gbAvailable in GB
Fast payouts
18+ Only

A pay-by-SMS deposit is the simplest fund-in a UK online casino offers. You choose a number at the cashier, reply to a text or tap a PIN, and the charge lands on your next mobile bill or comes off your PAYG credit. The casino is otherwise an ordinary UK Gambling Commission-licensed site. Everything that follows is built around that one mechanic: ten operators that take it, the £40-a-day ceiling that bounds it, and the bonus terms that decide whether the headline offer is worth claiming.

A smartphone showing a casino cashier screen with the pay-by-SMS option highlighted
The deposit is added to your next phone bill, capped at £40 a day by default

*Current as of 9 September 2026 · data checked against the UK Gambling Commission’s public register and operator terms.*

Pay-by-SMS gambling explained: your phone bill as a deposit, not a wallet

What a pay-by-SMS casino is

A pay-by-SMS casino is a UK-licensed online casino that accepts the mobile-billing deposit rails instead of — or alongside — a debit card, e-wallet or bank transfer. The deposit itself is settled through a carrier-billing provider: the player authorises a charge to their mobile account, the provider routes the funds to the casino, and the player sees no bank account or card number change hands. From the casino’s perspective it is one more payment method; from the player’s, it is a different way of saying “bill me later.”

What distinguishes it is what it does not do. Pay by SMS is deposit-only at every UK casino. A withdrawal cannot be sent back to a phone bill, because a phone bill is a charge, not a balance. The cashout sits on a debit card, a PayPal account, a bank transfer or an e-wallet that the player nominated at sign-up. Players who choose SMS funding are picking speed and low friction on the way in, and a separate, slower method for the way out.

Which UK casino sites accept SMS deposits

Every operator in the ranking below accepts SMS deposits. The acceptance runs through three providers — Fonix, Boku and Payforit — and a player does not usually pick the provider. The cashier label says “Pay by Mobile” or “Pay by Phone Bill”; the carrier-billing provider behind that label does the rest. The label on the operator’s deposit page is the first thing to check, because not every site that takes “pay by mobile” calls it “SMS” and not every site that calls it “SMS” uses the same back-end. Fonix is the most common UK platform; Boku is the largest by global reach, with active users in over ninety countries.

Pay by SMS vs pay by phone bill: the same charge, two names

The two phrases describe the same method. Pay by SMS charges the deposit to the mobile account; pay by phone bill charges it to the mobile account. Carrier billing sits behind both. The alternative phrasings change nothing about the deposit ceiling, the opt-in flow or the deposit-only withdrawal rule — they only change the wording a searcher typed to find the page. Players who came in looking for “pay by phone bill” and landed here are in the right place; the method is identical.

Online vs mobile SMS casinos: the device changes, the deposit does not

The method works the same on desktop and on mobile. The cashier on a laptop shows the SMS option the same way the cashier in a phone browser does, and the double opt-in uses the phone either way — a text reply or a PIN, routed to the mobile number on the account, regardless of what device the player is sitting at when they deposit. There is no separate “mobile SMS casino” category, only a casino that takes SMS deposits, accessible from any device the player happens to be using.

How SMS deposits actually work: the limits and the withdrawal catch

How a pay-by-SMS deposit works, step by step

The flow has two halves. The first happens on the casino’s cashier page: the player picks “Pay by Mobile” or “Pay by SMS” and enters the amount. The second happens on the phone: a confirmation text arrives, the player replies or types a PIN, and only then does the deposit land. That second confirmation is the double opt-in the Phone-paid Services Authority requires, and it is the same flow Boku, Fonix and Payforit all run.

A hand holding a phone that shows a text-message confirmation for a casino deposit
Every pay-by-SMS deposit needs a second confirmation — a text reply or a PIN

Boku’s UK minimum is £10 and the operator’s daily ceiling is typically £30, with the PSA default of £40 a day sitting above that for sites that want a higher cap. The provider’s ceiling and the operator’s ceiling are not the same number; the lower of the two wins on any given deposit.

What shows up on your phone bill — and the fees

A post-paid mobile account sees the charge on the next monthly bill, alongside everything else. A pay-as-you-go account sees the deduction taken from existing credit, instantly. The casino does not see the player’s mobile number’s tariff, contract or balance — it sees only the confirmation that the carrier-billing provider has settled the funds.

Some operators add a processing fee for the convenience. The going rate is 15% to 25%, applied on top of the deposit. JeffBet and Casino Kings both charge 15% on SMS deposits; a £20 deposit becomes £23 in the player’s account, and the £3 difference is the operator’s cut for the billing route. That is the cost the page’s headline number does not show.

The withdrawal catch: SMS is deposit-only

Every UK casino that accepts SMS deposits routes withdrawals through a different method. A phone bill cannot receive a credit; the carrier is not a wallet. The player names a debit card, a bank account or an e-wallet at sign-up, and the cashout goes there.

The practical consequence is that the SMS-funded player is committed to two payment methods from the first deposit onward. Some operators will let a player change the withdrawal method later, but the identity verification on the new method still has to clear. Picking the cashout rail at sign-up is the cleanest route, because the verification is already done.

Deposit limits: £5–£10 minimums, £40 a day by default

Two layers of limit sit on top of an SMS deposit. The operator sets a per-transaction minimum — usually £5 to £10 — and a single-transaction ceiling of £30 to £40. Above that sits the Phone-paid Services Authority’s default: £40 a day and £240 a month, applied across every pay-by-mobile deposit the player makes, not just at one casino. The PSA caps are the hard ceiling the carrier enforces; the operator’s limits sit below them.

A player trying to deposit £50 in a single SMS transaction will find the cashier refusing before the carrier gets a look in. The lower of the operator’s cap and the PSA cap is the figure that matters on any given day.

Boku, Fonix and Payforit: the carriers behind the charge

Three providers carry the UK pay-by-SMS market. Fonix is the most common UK platform, sitting behind more cashier labels than the other two combined. Boku is the global heavyweight — over ninety countries and 28 million active users — with a £10 minimum and £30 daily cap at UK casinos. Payforit is the UK-only scheme that works through the four domestic networks: Vodafone, O2, EE and Three. Players do not pick a provider; the casino’s cashier does. A “Pay by Mobile” button at a Boku-integrated site will produce a Boku-branded text; a Payforit-integrated site routes through Payforit instead. The mechanics are interchangeable from the player’s point of view.

The 10 pay-by-SMS casinos we checked in 2026

The table below ranks the ten UKGC-licensed operators that accept SMS deposits at their cashier. Every licence was confirmed against the UK Gambling Commission’s public register. Bonus terms, wagering and validity windows were checked against each operator’s published terms at the time of writing. The wagering cap of 10× the bonus amount has been in force since 19 January 2026; every figure below sits at or below that ceiling.

Operator UKGC licence Welcome offer Free spins Wagering on winnings
Sky Vegas Active (Flutter Entertainment) 50 no-deposit spins + 200 spins on £10 deposit and spend 250 0×
MrQ Active (Lindar Media Ltd) 100 spins on Big Bass Splash with £10 deposit 100 0×
LeoVegas Active (LeoVegas Gaming plc / MGM Resorts) 50 spins on Big Bass Splash with £10 deposit and play 50 0×
BetUK Active (LeoVegas Gaming plc) 50 spins on Big Bass Splash with £10 deposit and play 50 0×
Duelz Active (SuprPlay Limited) 140 spins over 7 days on £25 deposit, or £100 bonus alternative 140 10× on bonus
Casino Kings Active (ProgressPlay) 100 spins with £20 deposit 100 10× (winnings capped at £30)
JeffBet Active (ProgressPlay, licence 39335) 100% up to £100 + 50 spins on Rainbow Riches Megaways 50 10× on bonus and spins
Peachy Games Active (Dazzletag Entertainment) 100% match + 100 spins on Big Bass Splash with £10 deposit 100 10× on spin winnings
Hollywoodbets Active 100% up to £50 + 20 spins 20 —
Mr Vegas Active (Videoslots Limited, 000-039380-R-319409-012) 100% up to £50 — —

Sky Vegas

Sky Vegas is the only genuinely no-deposit offer in the table. Fifty free spins land on the account before a player has paid anything in, and the winnings on those fifty are real cash from the moment they credit. A further 200 spins follow a £10 deposit and £10 stake on any eligible slot. All 250 spins pay wager-free winnings. The seven-day expiry applies from the moment the spins are credited, and the £10 spend requirement has to clear within 30 days. The slot library runs 600-plus titles across 35-plus providers — NetEnt, Play’n GO, Blueprint, Evolution and Pragmatic Play sit at the core.

This is the only entry in the ranking where a player does not need to fund the account before sampling the operator. The 50-spin no-deposit is a real, withdrawable win if anything lands.

MrQ

MrQ’s headline is 100 wager-free spins on Big Bass Splash — Pragmatic Play’s fishing title with a 96.71% RTP — for a £10 first deposit. Spins are valued at £0.10 and must be used within 48 hours of qualifying, so the offer’s clock starts on the deposit, not on a calendar date. The casino runs 1,500-plus slots from Pragmatic Play, Play’n GO, NetEnt, Blueprint and Thunderkick. Lindar Media Ltd holds the UKGC licence, and Fonix is the carrier-billing provider at the cashier.

MrQ is one of three operators with a genuinely wager-free offer on a named slot. This offer stands out among the ten we have ranked for its combination of high-RTP gameplay and clean, wager-free terms.

LeoVegas

LeoVegas runs 50 wager-free spins on Big Bass Splash, released once a player has deposited and wagered £10. The 1× playthrough on the deposit is the qualifying step — it is not bonus wagering, it is a “play your deposit once” condition. Spins expire three days after credit, and the 7-day window to clear the qualifying wager is a separate clock. The LeoVegas Gaming plc licence (under the MGM Resorts umbrella) covers the brand alongside BetUK.

LeoVegas is a strong contender for existing account holders. When compared to MrQ’s larger spin count and more relaxed expiry window, however, it presents a slightly less attractive entry for new depositors.

BetUK

BetUK is the LeoVegas Gaming plc sister brand and runs the same shape of offer: 50 wager-free spins on Big Bass Splash, with a £10 deposit-and-play qualifying step, a 3-day spin expiry and a 7-day qualifying window. The slot lobby runs NetEnt, Pragmatic Play, Play’n GO and Evolution. The wager-free structure is identical to LeoVegas, and the choice between them is brand preference rather than terms.

Duelz

Duelz’s headline is 140 spins over 7 consecutive days — 20 a day — released on a £25 first deposit. The alternative for players who prefer a match bonus is a £100 welcome, which carries 10× wagering on the bonus funds. Unclaimed daily spins expire at midnight, so a player who skips a day loses that day’s 20. The 7-day bonus window is tight; missing the first day’s batch is a permanent loss. SuprPlay Limited holds the UKGC licence.

The Duelz offer rewards consistency. A player who logs in for seven straight days and claims the spins on each will get the full 140; a player who misses a day or two will not.

Casino Kings

Casino Kings offers 100 free spins for a £20 deposit, with 10× wagering on the bonus and a £30 maximum conversion on spin winnings. The cap is the figure that decides whether the offer is worth claiming — a lucky run on the spins pays up to £30 and no more, after the wagering clears. ProgressPlay holds the UKGC licence. A 15% processing fee applies on SMS deposits, which is the same fee structure as JeffBet, so a £20 SMS deposit becomes £23 in the account.

A player who values the spin count over the cap should look here; a player who values uncapped winnings should look elsewhere.

JeffBet

JeffBet’s offer is a 100% match up to £100 plus 50 spins on Rainbow Riches Megaways (RTP 96.5%, Blueprint Gaming). Both the bonus funds and the spin winnings carry 10× wagering, with 30 days on the bonus and 7 days on the spin wagering. ProgressPlay holds the licence, licence number 39335, and the slot library runs 2,000-plus titles. The 15% processing fee on SMS deposits is the same as Casino Kings; a £100 SMS deposit funds £85 of bonus, which is the figure to keep in mind when comparing match offers.

The wagering multiple sits at the regulatory ceiling, placing this offer in the standard tier for bonuses. SMS users should note the 15% processing fee, which adds to the effective cost compared to wager-free alternatives.

Peachy Games

Peachy Games runs a 100% match plus 100 spins on Big Bass Splash for a £10 first deposit. The spin winnings carry 10× wagering and the spins expire within 48 hours. Dazzletag Entertainment holds the UKGC licence, and the slot library runs 700-plus titles from Pragmatic Play, Play’n GO and NetEnt. The match element is a separate term; the headline is a “deposit bonus plus 100 spins” rather than spins alone, which is the shape of offer a player looking for a hybrid will recognise.

The 48-hour spin expiry is the tightest window in the table; the spins need to be used the same day or the next.

Hollywoodbets

Hollywoodbets’ welcome is a 100% match up to £50 plus 20 spins, with the standard 10× UKGC cap on wagering. The SMS deposit range at the cashier is £5 to £300 — the widest in the table, and the one operator that takes a sub-£10 SMS deposit. The slot library runs 2,900-plus titles, with 130-plus live casino tables. The bonus terms are not stated in the operator’s published snippet, so a player confirming them before depositing is the prudent move.

The £5 minimum is an entry point below the £10 floor; for a player testing an SMS deposit for the first time, this and Mr Vegas offer the lowest-cost trial on the ranking.

Mr Vegas

Mr Vegas runs a 100% match up to £50 with no free-spin element. The £5 minimum deposit is the lowest in the table, and the operator accepts Siru Mobile — a pay-by-phone provider — rather than Boku, Fonix or Payforit. The Videoslots Limited licence (000-039380-R-319409-012) covers the brand, and the game library is the largest in the ranking: 8,000-plus titles from Hacksaw Gaming, NetEnt, Pragmatic Play, Evolution and Red Tiger. Rainbow Fridays and Wheel of Vegas promotions run alongside the welcome.

Mr Vegas is the only entry where the offer has no spin element. A player who wants a match bonus on a low minimum and is happy to fund it through Siru Mobile has the cleanest path here.

Why your 2026 bonus is smaller than it looks

A 10× wagering ceiling has been in force since 19 January 2026. The Commission has framed the change in plain terms: capping the wagering requirement decreases the likelihood of harm, reduces complexity and improves transparency while maintaining consumer choice. That is a quote worth taking at face value, because the previous market — multipliers of 30× to 65× — was the figure that decided whether a welcome bonus was worth claiming. A £100 bonus at 65× meant £6,500 of qualifying play before a penny could be withdrawn. A £100 bonus at 10× means £1,000.

The same arithmetic that drops the wagering from 65× to 10× also drops the expected cost of clearing the bonus. Expected loss = required turnover × (1 − RTP). With JeffBet’s 100% match to £100, the bonus generates £1,000 of required wagering at 10×. Big Bass Splash returns 96.71% over time, so 3.29% of turnover is the statistical cost of clearing the bonus. £1,000 of turnover at 3.29% is an expected loss of about £32.90. The same bonus at 65× would have required £6,500 of turnover, producing an expected loss of about £213.85. The 10× cap turns a £200-plus expected cost into a £30-plus expected cost on the same bonus.

That is a real saving, but it is a saving on the cost of clearing the bonus, not on the bonus itself. A player who deposits £100 to claim a £100 bonus has staked £200, of which £100 is theirs and £100 is the casino’s. The expected loss above is the cost of converting the casino’s £100 into withdrawable cash. The 10× cap has not made the bonus free; it has made it cheaper. The “smaller than it looks” framing still holds, just on a different scale than it did a year ago.

The only genuine no-deposit spins among the ten we checked

Sky Vegas is the only operator in the ranking that pays spins before a player has deposited. Fifty spins land on registration, the winnings on those fifty are withdrawable from the moment they credit, and the 200 further spins follow the £10 deposit-and-stake step. Every other offer in the table is a deposit-gated welcome: pay the qualifying amount, then the spins or the match bonus land.

“No deposit” in this context is a real distinction. A wager-free no-deposit spin is a free sample of the operator; a wagered deposit offer is a trade, in which the player funds the account in exchange for bonus value. Players who specifically want to test a casino before paying in have a shortlist of one.

Free spins vs match bonuses: wagering and validity side by side

Operator Offer type Wagering multiple Validity window
Sky Vegas Free spins (no-deposit + on-deposit) 0× 7 days
MrQ Free spins 0× 48 hours
LeoVegas Free spins 0× 3 days
BetUK Free spins 0× 3 days
Duelz Free spins (with bonus alternative) 10× on bonus 7 days
Casino Kings Free spins 10× 7 days
JeffBet Match bonus + free spins 10× 30 days bonus / 7 days spins
Peachy Games Match bonus + free spins 10× on spin winnings 48 hours spins
Hollywoodbets Match bonus + free spins 10× —
Mr Vegas Match bonus 10× —

The wagering multiple column is the one that decides the offer’s real value. Wager-free spins on Big Bass Splash (MrQ, LeoVegas, BetUK) turn every penny of winnings into real cash; spins at 10× require the player to wager the winnings ten times over before they can be withdrawn. The validity window is the second axis: a 48-hour expiry on 100 spins at Peachy Games is a tight sprint; a 7-day window on 250 spins at Sky Vegas is a leisurely walk.

SMS verification is not a bonus: proving who you are is not a freebie

UKGC-licensed operators have to verify a player’s name, address and date of birth before the first deposit, the first wager or the first bonus claim. That has been the rule since 7 May 2019, and it applies to every site in this ranking. The “SMS verification” wording that floats around some bonus pages describes the identity check, not a free-spins offer — the same one-time verification a player would clear by uploading a passport or driving licence, here carried out by a code texted to the mobile number on the account.

A player who sees “SMS verification bonus” or similar wording on a search result has, in nearly every case, landed on a regular deposit offer dressed in different language. The verification is a step, not a reward.

The same welcome offer, whether you pay by card or by SMS

A pay-by-SMS deposit does not change the welcome offer. The same £10 deposit at MrQ unlocks the same 100 wager-free spins whether the player funds the account by debit card or by phone bill. The bonus terms are tied to the deposit amount and the qualifying wager, not to the funding rail. Wager-free offers stay wager-free when funded by SMS; matched offers carry the same 10× ceiling either way.

The two costs the SMS rail does add are the processing fee (where the operator charges one) and the PSA daily cap. JeffBet and Casino Kings charge 15% on SMS deposits; Sky Vegas, MrQ, LeoVegas, BetUK, Duelz, Peachy Games, Hollywoodbets and Mr Vegas do not levy an SMS fee on top of the published terms. The £40 daily PSA cap is a hard ceiling that the debit-card rail does not have, but it sits above the deposit most welcome offers require.

SMS deposits on mobile: the network, not the site, sets the ceiling

Pay by SMS on mobile: the double opt-in, on the phone itself

A deposit initiated in a phone browser at the cashier finishes on the phone, not in the browser. The first half of the flow is the cashier form: the player picks the SMS option, enters the amount, taps to confirm. The second half is the double opt-in: a confirmation text arrives, the player replies or types a PIN, and only then does the deposit confirm. The browser tab waits for the carrier’s response and refreshes to a funded account when the PIN clears.

Deposits are instant on the operator side once the opt-in completes. The money has not moved through a bank — it has been billed to the mobile account — and the casino’s payment provider credits the player balance in real time. The latency between the opt-in and the balance update is seconds, not the working day a debit-card deposit sometimes takes to clear.

Phone-bill billing on mobile: monthly bill or PAYG credit

A post-paid contract sees the charge added to the next monthly bill. The player pays the bill at the end of the cycle, and the casino deposit sits on the bill alongside calls, texts and data. A pay-as-you-go account sees the deduction taken from existing credit, instantly, in the same way a paid text message would. The casino never sees the player’s tariff or their balance; the carrier’s billing platform settles the funds and notifies the casino.

The privacy story here is the one that has always appealed to players: the casino does not see the bank account, the card number, or the mobile account. It sees only the carrier-billing provider’s confirmation that the funds have been settled. The trade-off is that the deposit ceiling sits at the network level, not at the bank level.

Mobile minimum deposits: typically £5 to £10

Operator minimums on SMS deposits typically run £5 to £10. Boku’s UK minimum is £10; Fonix and Payforit accept lower minimums at operators that choose to set them. Hollywoodbets takes an SMS deposit from £5 upward, the only sub-£10 minimum in the ranking. There is no separate mobile-only minimum; the figure sits on the cashier, not on the device.

The PSA caps sit above the operator minimums in nearly every case, so the lower limit a player encounters is the operator’s floor, not the regulator’s ceiling. The reverse is true at the top end: the PSA’s £40 daily cap binds tighter than most operators’ per-transaction limits, and any deposit above that needs to clear via a different method.

Slots you can fund by SMS — and the stake cap on every spin

Slots you can play after an SMS deposit

An SMS deposit unlocks the full slot lobby at the operator — the funding method does not restrict the game library. The ranked operators run between 700 and 8,000 slots each, with the major providers (Pragmatic Play, NetEnt, Play’n GO, Blueprint, Evolution) sitting at the core of nearly every catalogue. Big Bass Splash and Rainbow Riches Megaways recur across the offers: Big Bass Splash on MrQ, LeoVegas, BetUK and Peachy Games (RTP 96.71%, Pragmatic Play); Rainbow Riches Megaways on JeffBet (RTP 96.5%, Blueprint Gaming).

Live casino runs alongside the slot library on the bigger brands. Hollywoodbets lists 130-plus live tables; Mr Vegas runs an 8,000-strong library that includes the live suite from Evolution and Pragmatic Play. The live games are funded the same way slots are, with the same SMS ceiling.

The stake cap on every spin: £5 at 25+, £2 at 18–24

Every online slot in the UK is now subject to a statutory maximum stake. Players aged 25 and over are limited to £5 per game cycle, in force since 9 April 2025. Players aged 18 to 24 are limited to £2 per game cycle, in force since 21 May 2025. The cap is set by SI 2025/215 and enforced by the UK Gambling Commission; it applies to every spin, on every slot, at every UKGC-licensed site, regardless of the deposit method.

A game cycle is the period from the initiation of a spin to the delivery of all winnings. The £5 and £2 are the totals staked within that cycle — they are not stake-per-line figures, and the cap does not move when a player raises the coin value or the number of paylines. An SMS-funded spin at 25p per line on a 20-line slot costs £5 per cycle, which is the maximum the law allows for that age band. There is no statutory stake cap on live casino, sports betting or bingo.

Slot sites that take an SMS deposit from £10

A £10 SMS deposit unlocks the welcome offer at MrQ, LeoVegas, BetUK and Peachy Games — the four wager-free spin offers that name Big Bass Splash by title. Sky Vegas’s 200-spin offer on deposit needs the same £10. Duelz needs £25, Casino Kings needs £20, JeffBet’s match-plus-spins needs a minimum that the operator’s snippet does not state, Hollywoodbets and Mr Vegas take £5 to £10. Hollywoodbets’ £5 minimum is the only sub-£10 entry point in the ranking; the rest sit at £10 or £20.

A player deciding between the wager-free £10 offers is choosing between 50 spins (LeoVegas, BetUK), 100 spins (MrQ) and 250 spins (Sky Vegas, with the no-deposit 50 layered in). The Big Bass Splash RTP of 96.71% applies identically to the three pure wager-free entries; the difference is the spin count and the validity window.

New pay-by-SMS sites in 2026: what is actually new

What to check before joining a new SMS casino

A new pay-by-SMS casino has to clear the same checks as any other UKGC-licensed site, and the verification falls on the player. The first is the licence: every operator in this market has to hold a UK Gambling Commission licence, and the licence number has to be visible on the public register before any deposit is made. The second is the funding rail: the cashier has to show “Pay by Mobile,” “Pay by SMS” or “Pay by Phone Bill” with a named provider. The third is the bonus terms: the wagering multiple, the validity window and any cashout cap, all published on the operator’s promotion page.

A new site that does not pass those three checks is not a new pay-by-SMS casino — it is an unverified brand making a payment-method claim. The register lookup is the test that decides which category a site sits in.

New online and mobile SMS casinos: the method is old, only the site is new

New SMS casinos do not invent the payment method. They integrate the same Boku, Fonix or Payforit rails that the existing operators use, sit under the same PSA spending caps, and run the same double opt-in on every charge. The mobile cashier looks the same at a brand that launched this month as it did at a brand that launched five years ago; only the operator behind the form is different.

The thing a new site adds is the welcome offer, and that is the part the player compares. A new site has to make its offer worth the verification step a returning player at an established brand would skip. The 10× wagering ceiling applies to the new brand the same way it does to the established one.

How UK regulation protects your SMS deposit

The UKGC licence: the single check that matters

The UK Gambling Commission is the single statutory regulator for gambling in Great Britain, an executive non-departmental public body sponsored by the Department for Culture, Media and Sport. It licenses operators, software and personnel under the Gambling Act 2005, extended by the Gambling (Licensing and Advertising) Act 2014 — the latter being the point-of-consumption reform that made a GB licence compulsory for any operator serving GB customers, wherever the operator is based. The Commission’s three licensing objectives sit at section 1 of the Act: preventing gambling from being a source of crime or disorder, ensuring gambling is conducted in a fair and open way, and protecting children and other vulnerable persons from being harmed or exploited.

A licence on the public register is the proof an operator has met those three objectives; an operator not on the public register is one the player should not be funding. The register is the test that decides whether an SMS deposit is a regulated payment or a transfer to an unlicensed brand.

The statutory caps and bans at a glance

Rule What it caps or bans Value
Online slot stake cap (25+) Maximum stake per game cycle £5 (in force 9 Apr 2025)
Online slot stake cap (18–24) Maximum stake per game cycle £2 (in force 21 May 2025)
Bonus wagering cap Maximum wagering on bonus funds 10× (in force 19 Jan 2026)
PSA pay-by-mobile cap Daily and monthly spend across all SMS deposits £40/day, £240/month
Credit card ban All remote gambling payments Banned since 14 Apr 2020
Reverse withdrawals Banned at UKGC-licensed sites In force 31 Oct 2021
Auto-play Banned on online slots In force 31 Oct 2021
Spin speed Minimum interval between spins 2.5 seconds

The stake cap is the rule that interacts most directly with an SMS-funded budget. A £40-a-day SMS ceiling at the network level translates to eight £5 game cycles for a 25+ player, or twenty £2 game cycles for an 18-24 player. The PSA cap and the slot cap together define the maximum exposure a phone-bill deposit can produce.

A simple graphic listing UK slot stake and deposit-spend caps
The £5 slot stake cap applies to every spin, whatever the deposit method

GAMSTOP and self-exclusion for SMS depositors

GAMSTOP is the national multi-operator self-exclusion scheme, and it has been a mandatory condition of every UKGC online operating licence since 31 March 2020. A player who registers with GAMSTOP excludes themselves from every UKGC-licensed online operator, SMS deposit method included. The exclusion periods are 6 months, 1 year, 5 years, or 5 years with auto-renewal, and the choice cannot be reversed early.

A self-excluded player trying to fund an account with an SMS deposit will be blocked at the cashier. The operator is bound to check the GAMSTOP register before accepting any deposit or wager from a registered player. The block applies regardless of the funding method, which is the point: GAMSTOP exclusion is operator-wide, not method-specific.

Credit cards are banned; identity is checked first

No credit card has been accepted for remote gambling in Great Britain since 14 April 2020. The ban extends to credit-card-funded e-wallets, so a Visa or Mastercard credit deposit routed through PayPal is also off-limits. SMS deposits are not affected because the charge is to a phone bill, not to a card; that is the structural reason the method is still available.

Identity is checked before the first deposit, the first wager, the first bonus. A player cannot fund an account — by SMS, by debit card, by bank transfer — without clearing name, address and date-of-birth verification. The check is mandatory under LCCP and dates to 7 May 2019.

Safer play on a phone-bill budget: the caps that guard by default

The PSA caps as a built-in brake: £40 a day, £240 a month

A player funding their account by SMS is bounded by the PSA’s default caps whether they set a personal deposit limit or not. £40 a day, £240 a month across every pay-by-mobile deposit they make — the carrier enforces the cap at the network level, so the limit is the same at every casino, not a per-site figure. A player who wants to spend more than £40 on a given day simply cannot do it through SMS; the cashier refuses, the carrier refuses, and the £40 ceiling holds.

That is a useful feature for players who want to keep their stake small. A £40-a-day ceiling is below the kind of deposit a serious punter would make, but it is comfortably above the budget of a casual slots player running 50p spins. The PSA cap turns the SMS method into a natural low-stakes rail, by default and without the player having to ask.

Deposit limits, reality checks and time-outs on SMS accounts

UKGC-licensed operators have to prompt a player to set a financial deposit limit before the first deposit, and that has been the rule since 31 October 2025. The limit a player sets sits on top of the PSA cap, not in place of it. A player who sets a £20-a-day limit cannot override it by trying to deposit £40; the lower of the two figures is the binding ceiling.

Beyond the limit, every UKGC site has to offer reality checks, time-outs, and self-exclusion, with reverse withdrawals banned at every site. The game-design rules in force since 31 October 2021 require session time played, session net position and session wins/losses to be displayed; auto-play is banned; spin speed is capped at 2.5 seconds minimum; features that disguise losses as wins are banned. The combined effect is a session that shows the player what is happening to their balance in real time and refuses to let them play faster than the regulator considers safe.

Help that works: GamCare, the National Gambling Helpline and NHS clinics

GamCare runs the National Gambling Helpline, the front door of the UK support system. In January 2026 the helpline made 996 referrals to treatment and peer-based support services, up from 674 in January 2025 — a 48% increase year-on-year. The figure is the demand side of the safer-play argument: more players are reaching out for help, and the infrastructure is taking the calls.

The rest of the route runs through NHS gambling harm clinics in England, Scotland and Wales, peer-support meetings run by Gamblers Anonymous, and the research and prevention work funded by GambleAware. The NHS Adult Psychiatric Morbidity Survey 2023–24 found 0.4% of adults experienced problem gambling (PGSI 8+) and 1.6% experienced at least moderate risk gambling (PGSI 3+). In England, around 1.6 million adults who gamble may benefit from treatment or support for harmful gambling, which is the population the support system is funded to reach. A player who wants to step back from SMS-funded play has the same self-exclusion route — GAMSTOP, operator-side time-out, deposit-limit reduction — that a player on any other funding rail would use.

How we ranked these ten pay-by-SMS operators

The ranking sits on three sources: comparison sites that already rank UK pay-by-SMS casinos, the UK Gambling Commission’s public register of licence holders, and each operator’s published bonus terms. Every operator in the table is on the public register, and every licence is marked active. Bonus terms were checked at the time of writing, and any figure research did not state explicitly has been left as a dash rather than guessed at.

Ranking criteria, in order of weight: UKGC licence status, deposit minimum and the range of SMS funding the cashier accepts, bonus headline and the wagering multiple that applies to it, validity window on the spins or match bonus, and the size of the slot library. The order puts the wager-free offers at the top because the wagering multiple is the single biggest determinant of what a welcome offer is actually worth. The order below the wager-free cluster ranks by the same criteria, with the slot library and the deposit range breaking the ties.

Paying by SMS: right for small deposits, wrong for big ones

A pay-by-SMS deposit is the right rail for a player who wants to keep their spend small. The PSA’s £40-a-day and £240-a-month default sits comfortably above a casual slots budget and uncomfortably below a serious punter’s deposit. The deposit lands instantly on the phone, with no card number or bank account visible to the casino, and the opt-in is the second tap on the phone the player already has in their hand. For a £10 deposit, an SMS rail is the cleanest way to fund a wager-free spin offer, and the 10× wagering ceiling that came in on 19 January 2026 has brought the expected cost of clearing a £100 match bonus from the £200 range down to the £30 range.

It is the wrong rail for a player who wants to deposit more than the PSA cap. A serious punter trying to fund a £500 session from a phone bill cannot, because the carrier refuses before the cashier finishes loading. The processing fee at JeffBet and Casino Kings — 15% on every SMS deposit — is a cost a serious punter would not pay. And the deposit-only rule means every cashout still has to clear a debit card or a bank transfer, which is a step a player making one big deposit per month would have to plan around. The method rewards small, frequent deposits; it penalises the alternative.

The slot stake caps sit on top of the method choice. A £5 maximum stake per game cycle for a 25+ player and £2 for an 18-24 player mean that an SMS-funded account is running inside a fixed stake range, regardless of the deposit’s size. A player who wants to bet more per spin is out of luck at any UKGC-licensed site, regardless of the funding rail. The 10× wagering ceiling, the £40-a-day PSA cap, the £5/£2 stake cap and the deposit-only withdrawal rule together bound what an SMS deposit can do. The right rail is the one that lets the player stay inside those bounds without friction — and for a low-stakes slots player, that rail is the phone.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I withdraw casino winnings to my phone bill or SMS account?

No, withdrawals cannot be sent back to a mobile bill. Phone bills are strictly for charges, not for balance credits. You must nominate a separate withdrawal method—such as a debit card, bank transfer, or e-wallet—when you register your account to receive your winnings after you finish playing.

Are pay-by-phone casinos safe and licensed by the UKGC?

Yes, provided they hold an active UKGC licence. Every casino ranked in this guide is verified against the official UK Gambling Commission public register. Always check the operator’s licence status at the footer of their website before you make any deposit, as this ensures the site follows strict safety protocols.

Do I qualify for welcome bonuses if I deposit by SMS at a UK casino?

Yes, using SMS as your deposit rail does not change your eligibility for welcome offers. The bonus terms are linked to the deposit amount and qualifying wager rather than the funding method. A wager-free offer funded by SMS remains wager-free, and matched bonuses carry the same terms as card deposits.

Which UK mobile networks support casino pay-by-SMS deposits?

The major UK networks—Vodafone, O2, EE, and Three—all support pay-by-mobile billing, including Fonix, Boku, and Payforit services. When you initiate an SMS deposit, the carrier-billing provider handles the communication with your specific network to settle the funds directly to your casino balance, regardless of which of these networks you use.

What is the minimum deposit at a pay-by-SMS casino in the UK?

Minimum deposits typically range between £5 and £10 across most UK-licensed operators. Boku specifically has a £10 minimum at many sites, while some operators allow deposits from £5. Always check the cashier page for the specific minimum required for your chosen operator before you attempt to deposit funds.

Content created by the «topratedonlinecasinos-uk» team